Loading Events

Berkshire Symphony

Fri, March 11th, 2022
7:30 pm

  • This event has passed.

Pianist Sara Davis Buechner joins the Berkshire Symphony for the third concert of the season, conducted by Ronald Feldman. A renown pianist and guest soloist, Ms. Buechner performs Mozart’s Piano Concerto in C Major K. 503, with a cadenza created by Ms Buechner. There is a pre-concert talk at 6:45 pm with conductor Ronald Feldman in Chapin Hall.

Berkshire Symphony presents the work of two American composers whose contributions brought joy and innovation to modern orchestra. Featured works are Symphonic Dances from “West Side Story” by Leonard Bernstein, as well has the third variation, “Danzon,” from Three Dance Variations. This piece will be familiar to audiences by way of Bernstein’s ballet score for Jerome Robert’s choreography in Fancy Free.

As the Berkshire Symphony went on hiatus in March 2020, a new piece was in rehearsal. For the 90th birthday of Stephen Sondheim, Class of 1950, this new work, titled Sondheim Celebration by Kevin Kaska and Louis Stewart, was about to make its debut. Almost to the day, two years on, the Berkshires Symphony can finally perform this new masterwork in Chapin Hall before a live audience. The piece is a loving tribute and includes bits and pieces of Sondheim’s melodic lines have been chosen that exemplify the essence of characters in his musicals.

About Sara Davis Buechner
Noted for her musical command, cosmopolitan artistry, and visionary independence, Sara Davis Buechner is one of the most original concert pianists of our time. Lauded for her “intelligence, integrity and all-encompassing technical prowess” (New York Times), “thoughtful artistry in the full service of music” (Washington Post), and “astounding virtuosity” (Philippine Star), Japan’s InTune magazine sums up: “Buechner has no superior.”

The Berkshire Symphony is a 75-member symphonic orchestra comprising, in roughly equal proportions, Williams College music students, Williams music faculty members, and area professionals. The Symphony performs music by a range of composers, including Beethoven, Brahms, Haydn, Mozart, Schubert, Schumann, Tchaikovsky, Stravinsky, and Wagner. Students are paired with their teachers and mentors throughout the rehearsal period and throughout the performance season. Seated this way, the students are exposed to a level of professionalism and discipline that is rare in an educational setting. At the same time, the students’ infectious enthusiasm contributes to the Berkshire Symphony’s remarkable energy and rich sound. Four concerts are presented each season. The goal is to expose students to a broad range of symphonic repertory, while maintaining a commitment to perform music by living and American composers. The Berkshire Symphony was founded in 1946 and is directed by Ronald Feldman.

Event Program
More Information

Event/Announcement Navigation