Loading Events

Berkshire Symphony

Fri, November 15th, 2019
7:30 pm

  • This event has passed.

The Berkshire Symphony, under the baton of Ronald Feldman, begins with Symphony No. 21 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, and presents the world premiere of the Cello Concerto No. 2 by Allen Shawn, with faculty soloist Nathaniel Parke, cello. Also on offer is the much beloved Symphony No. 2 by Johannes Brahms.

The Berkshire Symphony is a 75-member symphonic orchestra comprising, in roughly equal proportions, Williams College music students, Williams music faculty members, and area professionals. The Symphony performs music by a range of composers, including Beethoven, Brahms, Haydn, Mozart, Schubert, Schumann, Tchaikovsky, Stravinsky, and Wagner. Students are paired with their teachers and mentors throughout the rehearsal period and throughout the performance season. Seated this way, the students are exposed to a level of professionalism and discipline that is rare in an educational setting. At the same time, the students’ infectious enthusiasm contributes to the Berkshire Symphony’s remarkable energy and rich sound. Four concerts are presented each season. The goal is to expose students to a broad range of symphonic repertory, while maintaining a commitment to perform music by living and American composers. The Berkshire Symphony was founded in 1946 and is directed by Ronald Feldman.

Event Program
More Information

Event/Announcement Navigation

Related Events