Loading Events

Berkshire Symphony

Fri, December 7th, 2007
9:00 pm

  • This event has passed.

Ronald Feldman, conductor

The Berkshire Symphony Orchestra will give a concert on Friday, Dec. 7, at 8 p.m. in Chapin Hall on the Williams College campus. There will be a pre-concert discussion by Ronald Feldman at 7:15 p.m. in Brooks-Rogers Recital Hall in the Bernhard Music Center. This free event is open to the public.

The evening will feature American composers past and present. The program includes the premiere of a Viola Concerto by composer Ezra Laderman with soloist Steven Ansell; Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring (original chamber version written in 1944) and Quiet City (1940) featuring Carl Jenkins, English horn, and Charles Schlueter, trumpet; Leonard Bernstein’s”Symphonic Dances from West Side Story, celebrating the 50th anniversary of the first performance on Broadway. Mr. Ansell is the principal violist of the Boston Symphony Orchestra. Mr. Schleuter is the former principal trumpet of the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

The Berkshire Symphony is conducted by Ronald Feldman and includes nearly 70 members, half of whom are students and half of whom are professional musicians. The ensemble presents four major concerts each season; the programs balance orchestral standards with contemporary works.

Event Program

Event/Announcement Navigation